New York Counties - Cities, Towns, Neighborhoods, Maps & Data


There are 62 counties in New York.  The five counties that comprise New York city (Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens, and Richmond) are governmentally consolidated with the city.  The remaining 57 counties are functioning governmental units, each governed by a board of supervisors, county legislature, board of representatives, a legislative board, or a board of legislators.

There are 1,023 county subdivisions in New York known as minor civil divisions (MCDs).  There are 932 towns with functioning, but not necessarily active governmental units.  East Rochester, Mount Kisco, and Scarsdale towns are coextensive with a single incorporated place and have joint MCD/place governments.  Green Island and Harrison towns are coextensive with a single incorporated place and have separate active township governments.  Each town is governed by a town supervisor or town manager and a town council or town board.

The five boroughs that comprise New York city (one borough in each of the five counties) are not considered to be functioning governmental units.  There are 61 cities in New York that are independent of MCDs and serve as 62 county subdivisions.  There are 14 county subdivisions comprised of American Indian reservations.  American Indian areas have a special legal status regarding their relationship to state and county government and are treated by the Census Bureau as county subdivision equivalents for the portion of the reservation within each county. 

Minor civil divisions are legally incorporated municipal corporations within the state.  They provide a range of services to their residents and are empowered to tax property within their boundaries to raise revenue.  Villages in New York are places dependent within towns and are not treated as minor civil divisions, with the exception of the five town-village governments. 

In addition, there are 10 undefined MCDs that consist entirely of water.

New York Counties - Populated Places in 62 Counties

Also see County: Census Data | Physical, Cultural & Historical Features | ZIP Codes | Land, Farms, & Ranches


New York Counties Synopsis

The New York Counties section of the gazetteer lists the cities, towns, neighborhoods and subdivisions for each of the 62 New York Counties.

Also see New York County: ZIP Codes | Physical, Cultural & Historical Features | Census Data | Land, Farms, & Ranches

Nearby physical features such as streams, islands and lakes are listed along with maps and driving directions. The same is true for both historical features and cultural features such as hospitals, parks, schools and airports.

Each profile includes the current weather plus a seven day forecast. Note that for smaller populated places, the weather report may be for the nearest weather reporting station or airport.

The local information and data include economic and demographic data, census information and facts about the local environmental situation including such items as maps of flood zones, local sources of pollution, air quality indices and local areas where hazardous materials may be used or stored.

The complete category list for larger cities and towns includes: Arts & Culture, Census Data, Community Organizations, State and Local Government, Health & Medical, Newcomer Information, Local News Papers & Radio, Parks & Recreation, Pets & Hobbies, Schools & Libraries, Social Services, Travel and Tourism.